My Elaborate Breakfast with Perfect Pre-cooked Pork Patties

I posted recently on my other blog about the new breakfast-in-a-muffin I’ve been experimenting with in an effort to reign in my usual lengthy breakfast prep routine. Well, the muffins are great, but I still like my morning routine, especially now that the weather’s so fine and the garden is starting to produce some of my favorite breakfast veggies. I wanted to show you around my garden a bit, entice you to try a big breakfast yourself, and also tell you about one of my tricks to make this elaborate breakfast a wee simpler to prepare.

Overwintered kale, starting to make delicious flowers. Kale rabe!

Kale, especially the tender young leaves and flower buds, is one of my favorites to saute with onions in the morning, but my very favorite, wait-for-it-all-year-and-gorge-throughout-the-season vegetable is asparagus. Looks like we’ll be eating that within a week.

Chubby asapargus babies. Aren't they cute? Couldn't you just eat them up??

I cut a few leaves and flower buds and head back inside.

Kale leaves and buds

Before I stepped out to get kale and admire the asparagus, I began gently reheating some pre-cooked pork patties and frying onions on the stove. I add the chopped kale to the onions and cook them for a few minutes, just long enough to soften the stems and bring out their color.

Pork patties, kale & onions

I found a couple eggs.

Duck egg, chicken egg

Fried them up in a bit of ghee and sprinkled them with a bit of Old Bay and sea salt.

Perfect little cast iron pan for frying eggs. Notice the big yolk on the duck egg?

And breakfast is served. With breakfast like this, I’m full, but not stuffed, and don’t get hungry again until 2 or 3 o’clock. Skipping lunch has become my new norm.

Pork patty, kale & onions, over easy eggs, and sauerkraut.

Without taking pictures, this nutritious breakfast takes me just minutes to make, thanks to the pork patties, which I make and cook in 10 pound batches. I love this recipe, made with plenty of sage and rosemary from our backyard and enough pepper to give them a bit of zing, yet not so much that the kids can’t enjoy them. I call these “perfect” because it took me several batches to get them just right. I hope you’ll try them and enjoy them as much as we do.

Luc with about half of the 10 pouds of pork patties we prepared together. I use my KitchenAid to mix the meat and seasonings.

Perfect Pre-cooked Pork Patties
Yields about 50 patties

2 12-inch sprigs of fresh rosemary or 3 teaspoon dry rosemary
8 tops–a good handful–of fresh sage or 3 tablespoons dry sage
3 tablespoons fennel seed, ground
3 tablespoons dried basil
1 tablespoon thyme
1 teaspoon red pepper flakes
3 tablespoons sea salt
1 tablespoon ground black pepper
10 pounds ground pork

Preheat oven to 400F. Line a rimmed baking sheet with parchment paper or a Silpat. Finely chop the rosemary and sage with a knife or in a food processor. Mix thoroughly with remaining seasonings. You should have approximately 1 cup altogether. Divide the herb mixture into four equal portions, about 1/4 cup each. Put 2-1/2 pounds of sausage in the bowl of a stand mixer, add one portion of herb mixture, and turn the mixer on low until the meat and herbs are thoroughly mixed. Remove meat and set aside in an extra large bowl. Repeat with the remaining meat and herb mixture.

Form patties using about 3-4 ounces of meat in each. Keep them all about the same size so they cook evenly. Place them close together on baking sheet. Bake for about 40 minutes, until just brown. Remove from oven and cool on a rack. Refrigerate or freeze and reheat as needed.

Luc flippin' burgers, I mean patties.

About Chris

I am a personal chef and cooking instructor with a deep and personal interest in healing with whole foods. I started Lost Arts Kitchen so I could share what I have learned about preparing real food on a real budget while living a real life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Elaborate Breakfast with Perfect Pre-cooked Pork Patties

  1. Pingback: Sweet Success with Sauerkraut | Lost Arts Kitchen

  2. Pingback: Eating Local Meal Plan for Spring | Lost Arts Kitchen

  3. Jennifer says:

    Just made a variation of this. Delish!

Leave a Reply

